Apricot Cream Cheese Muffins

A few weeks ago the Early Farmer’s Market started down at Greenhouse Garden Center. There are cherries, apricots, white peaches, oranges, lettuce, garlic, onions, asparagus and more! I really love when the Market begins. As I have posted before it is something my daughter and I do every Saturday. Last week I bought some apricots to make an apricot pizza pie, it is my boyfriend’s favorite! This past weekend I bought some apricots for muffins (and some for a apricot peach pie I made for my friends).

IMG_9732

I purchased the apricots from Fruit Factory – aka Schletewitz Family Farms in California. They make a 6 hour drive to us each week to bring fruits we would not otherwise be able to get here in Nevada…I thank them!

IMG_2645

 

I used Early Castle Brite Apricots for both the muffins and the apricot pie I made last week.

APRICOT CREAM CHEESE MUFFINS

2 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup greek yogurt

2/3 cup sugar

1/2 cup applesauce (or any other jam or fruit sauce)

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 1/4 cup fruit chopped (Apricots)

Cream Cheese Stuffing

1 8 oz bar of cream cheese softened

1/4 cup sugar

1 egg yolk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.  Whisk eggs, yogurt, sugar, applesauce and vanilla together in a separate bowl.

Add the dry ingredients into the wet just enough to get all the dry ingredients moist. Just like pancakes don’t overmix! You still have fruit to fold in, that will help incorporate the batter the rest of the way.

Using a spatula fold in the fruit.  I use a small ice cream scoop when making muffins, cupcakes, or cookies, which helps with consistency. Scoop batter into muffin cups to fill just part of the way. Add 1 tablespoon of the cream cheese on top, then cover with more batter to fill the muffin cup.

Bake 17-20 minutes. Use a toothpick to check whether the muffins are done.

Cherries at the Market:

IMG_2642

 

~Enjoy~

Amanda

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

