Tiramisu Cheesecake–The classic Italian dessert is now a cheesecake!

Tiramisu cheesecake.blog

Most people are familiar with the classic tiramisu, an Italian espresso-mascarpone layered dessert. The creamy mascarpone combined with chocolate and espresso make a satisfying after dinner dessert. My love of cheesecakes has lead to many flavor combinations, like my Zebra cheesecake (on my blog), lemony versions, white chocolate raspberry, even an apple pie version. Classic desserts are my biggest inspiration for new cheesecake idea combinations. Tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts, so it’s only logical to make it into a cheesecake. Besides who doesn’t like coffee and chocolate – it’s a perfect combination, such as peanut butter and chocolate. For Valentines Day, I decided to make this dessert for my love. He gave his seal of approval.

Mascarpone is traditional in tiramisu, however cream cheese is the traditional ingredient in cheesecake. Cream cheese and mascarpone are very similar ingredients. In fact, the two are regularly combined, and may even replace one another, in cheesecake, and other, recipes. Mascarpone is a little tangier than cream cheese if you were taste testing the two side-by-side. However, the consistency of the two does not differ too much. In this recipe, I keep the cream cheese base for the cheesecake, but incorporate a fluffy mascarpone cream to reel in the Tiramisu experience.

Over the years I have tested many cheesecake recipes. For this recipe I use my basic cheesecake recipe to start. It is a combination of a classic recipe, and my grandmother’s recipe. This recipe always yields a perfect combination of creamy and fluffy. Some of you may like a dense and dry cheesecake (my boyfriend included), and you can achieve that by removing two eggs from this recipe and not using a water bath.

Preheat the oven to 350-degrees. When I follow the standard water bath instructions, like most recipes call for, my crust ends up soggy. When I don’t use a water bath I notice my cheesecake is drier and cracks! So, I decided to use my roasting pan with the removable rack (my rack is flat not ‘V’ shaped) and filled the pan with water to just below the rack. This way I get moisture in the oven, without the soggy crust. If you have luck with a traditional water bath, definitely use it. It is all about what works for you.

Crust

1-package (12 lady fingers) –Raley’s keeps them in the bakery freezer, just ask the baker for a package.

4oz brewed espresso (you can use hot water and instant powder too)

Arrange the lady fingers in the bottom of your spring form pan as tight together as you can. You want the least amount of gaps as possible (I put a piece of parchment paper at the bottom of my spring form pan). Sprinkle the espresso over all the lady fingers so each one soaks up the espresso. I tried dipping the lady fingers in the espresso first, but found if I tightly packed the lady fingers then added the espresso, that worked much better.

Filling

3- 8oz. pkgs cream cheese (softened)

3/4c granulated sugar

1T vanilla

5 eggs (2 for a dense cake)

1/8 cup heavy whipping cream

1/2 tsp espresso powder, or 3 tablespoon brewed espresso

Preheat the oven to 350-degrees.

Beat cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until combined. Add eggs one at a time and make sure each one is fully incorporated before adding the next. Beat in whipping cream and espresso. Pour the filling onto the lady finger crust.

Reduce the oven to 300-degrees, bake the cheesecake for 1 hour and 5 min (or until the middle is set).

Once the middle is set turn off the oven and prop the oven open slightly for about 15-20 minutes so the cheesecake can cool slowly (this will help avoid cracking). Remove the cheesecake from your oven and allow it to cool a bit more.

Mascarpone Cream

1 cup mascarpone cheese (about 8 ounces)

1/3 cup well-chilled heavy cream

1/4 cup sugar
In a bowl with a whisk or an electric mixer beat together mascarpone, cream, and sugar until mixture holds stiff peaks. Once your cheesecake is cool to the touch, spread, or pipe, the cream on to the cheesecake.

Sift sweetened cocoa powder over the top, or grate semi-sweet chocolate on top.

Refrigerate cheesecake 4 hours before serving.

Hey I never said a good cheesecake was easy…

5 Comments to “Tiramisu Cheesecake–The classic Italian dessert is now a cheesecake!”

  1. I love Tiramisu. Thank you so much much for sharing this delicious recipe with us!

  2. Amanda: Wow! Beautiful blog.

    I’m a terrible cook with aspirations to improve. Where do I start?

  3. Thanks Liron! :)
    Well start with what you are good at cooking already then expand upon it. Make it different ways. What do you like to eat?

    • Just about everything, I guess. My problem is that I lack confidence in the kitchen. Afraid to make mistakes. I will heed your advice.

      By the way, is Skiba Polish or Slovak? I don’t think it ever crossed my mind to ask you that back in the days of elementary school and junior high. We were a pretty motley bunch! I ask because my dad is a Polish Jew and I am familiar with that country’s food.

  4. I make mistakes all the time. I cook stuff and my family doesn’t like it or says it’s just ok. Sometimes the mistakes are what make new things. I find whenever I’m afraid to do something I always screw it up. Once I give it up and just say oh well if it doesn’t turn out then it works. Pasta, Bread and Pie crust are all examples of things that intimidated me. The more you cook the comfortable you get!!! :)
    My dad’s family is from Croatia. My great grandparents came to the US from Croatia (I think both my dad’s parents were from that area)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

