Homemade Hamburger Helper

Are you like me and secretly hide your love of Hamburger Helper – the ease of it all, the fact that your kids love it, and so do you? My favorites are Beefy Pasta and Cheeseburger Macaroni. I don’t think I have really cared to try the rest since I know it’s over processed and not healthy and I am already addicted to two of them. It’s a guilty pleasure, and a rare occurrence in my house. But when I bust out the Hamburger Helper in my house you can hear the cheering and there is never any left. And if there is my husband or my one stepson (I have two stepsons and one daughter) happily take it for lunch the following day. Well, I wanted to come up with a way to have my hamburger helper and eat it, guilt-free, too.

hamburger helper-7990 

1 lb ground beef

1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 tsp. garlic powder (you could also use 2 cloves fresh minced garlic)

1  tbsp. dried onion flakes

1 tbsp. cornstarch

1/4 tsp. pepper (or more to taste)

2 large beef bullion cubes (or 3 small ones)

1 1/2 cups elbow macaroni

2 1/2  cups hot water

1/2 cup milk

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

 

Brown the ground beef in a pan with the worcestershire, garlic powder, onion flakes, and pepper.

IMG_1328

Crumble the bullion cubes into the meat and stir. Add the cornstarch and stir to coat the meat.

IMG_1330

Slowly add the water and milk. Stir until mixed and add the pasta.

IMG_1333

 

Cover and cook for 12 minutes (or until the noodles are tender). Add the cheese at the end and stir until completely melted.

hamburger helper-8003

It’s that easy! Just as easy as the boxed stuff and I promise just as good. You won’t go back! At least I will not go back, I’ll work on the cheeseburger mac next.

Enjoy~

Amanda

 

4 Comments to “Homemade Hamburger Helper”

  1. Um, amazing! I used to love hamburger helper and not long ago, I tried it again as a “treat.” Since I cook most of my stuff from scratch, the sodium was a bit too much to handle for me. I can’t wait to try to make it at home! Thanks!

  2. Do you just add the cheese at the end? I’m not seeing it on the directions.

    • Yes! I’m so sorry I just looked at that the other day and forgot to add it in! I just updated the post, but yes add the cheese at the end and stir until it’s completely melted. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

