Semi-Homemade…my way…Fast Spanish Rice

So Thursday night was a get home and we’re starving night (little behind on this post). This particular night I hadn’t planned a dinner, which happens on occasion, and I also had to stop by the store on the way home. I wanted to make something fast because my daughter and I are grumpy hungry by that point. With much recluctance I used a box rice mix. It was a shortcut Sandra Lee would be proud of. My mom would sometimes make this dinner when I was a kid. I am going to rework this recipe and make a “Completely Homemade” version…

1lb ground beef
1 tsp butter
box Rice-a-Roni
14 1/2 oz can diced tomatoes (crushed would work too)
1/2 c. corn
2 c. water
cilantro (garnish)

Brown the ground beef, then add the butter and rice and stir. Allow the rice to brown a bit stiring occassionally. Add seasoning packet, tomatoes, corn, and water. Allow to simmer 20 minutes or until rice is tender.

Top with some fresh chopped cilantro for garnish.

Leave a Reply

