Carrot Cake Oatmeal

I was looking through cookbooks online and found a book with recipes “sneaking” healthy ingredients into food without your kids knowing it.  I saw in the index of the book that there was a recipe for carrot cake oatmeal. It sounded SO good and since the recipe wasn’t in the book preview, I decided to make up my own. I looked at my Gram K’s carrot cake recipe for inspiration and this is what I came up with… my daughter and I loved it! And you don’t even notice it’s made with soy milk!

1c. oats (of your choosing I use Steel cut but rolled would work well too)
1/2c. 10-grain hot cereal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1c. vanilla soy milk
1c. water
1 carrot, shredded
1t. cinnamon
1/8t. nutmeg
1/8 c. raisins
1t. vanilla
1/ 8 t. salt
1/2 banana, smashed

“Frosting”
1/2c greek style yogurt
1T. honey or other favorite sweetener

COOK water, soy milk, oats, cereal, spices and raisins in to pot and cook on medium. Once the oatmeal begins to slightly boil 2-3 min, add the mashed banana and mix vigorously. Allow to cook stirring occassionally until the oatmeal is done, another 1-2 minutes (this will make it creamier).

MIX yogurt and honey to make the frosting. You can add a little cinnamon to that too.

2 Comments to “Carrot Cake Oatmeal”

  1. Yum! How does Greek style yogurt taste compared to the Dannon style?

    • It’s much thicker and creamier and less sugary…it’s so good. Mine and Eyden’s new favorite treat is plain greek yogurt drizzled with honey. Or you can get the Fage brand with the honey on the side. MMMM…

Leave a Reply

