Homemade Vanilla Extract

With the weather like it is here lately I feel like I live in the Northeast rather than the Northwest! It’s amazing how much snow we are getting! Yesterday we got so much snow that our snowgirl is hidden under the snow! Last night we were at a friend’s birthday party and when I came out there was 4-5 inches of snow on my van!!! I park my car in the garage so it usually doesn’t accumulate snow on top…I didn’t make sure to clean off all the snow and now I have a huge watter puddle all over my garage! Not to mention I have shoveled that driveway countless times now…I think we can sled in my backyard…If I had a sled we’d try it! 🙂 Hope everyone is keeping warm and cozy!

To go along with the Toasted Coconut Cranberry Bread here is a recipe for homemade extract….

Vodka
Vanilla bean

Use a clean empty glass bottle from the last vanilla extract you purchased, or buy a glass jar with screw top lid. Fill the bottle with vodka. Then (depending on the size of the bottle) add a vanilla bean sliced the entire length of the bean and open the bean up a bit. Put the bean in the jar and put the lid on. Then shake vigorously. Let sit on the shelf for about 2 months shaking a couple times a week.

Pretty easy!

2 Responses to “Homemade Vanilla Extract”

  1. You have more energy than me! Of course, I live in the Midwest & don’t have a garage and have to scrape my car most winter mornings. Keeps me young, and tired 🙂
    Yum, i love cranberries & coconut.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

