Potato Soup

I have not been feeling very well this week and I wanted the creamy potato soup with dumplings, that my mom used to make. It’s my grandma’s recipe and is creamy and buttery. SO super good. So I decided to make it tonight for dinner. It’s pretty simple and easy. I made it and I’m not feeling well so it must be easy!

Maybe tomorrow I’ll feel better….I hope so because it’s the weekend!  The last weekend of shopping before Christmas too and I still have some shopping to get done.

2 lbs. yukon gold potoatoes, diced into bitesize pieces
3 stalks of celery, chopped
3 large carrots sliced in coins
1 white onion
1/2 stick of butter
6 cups of water
1 1/2 c. milk (or half in half
1 sprig of thyme
2T. salt
1t. pepper
chives (for garnish)

Dumplings
In a bowl mix 2 eggs, little water (1/3 c.), 1/2 t. salt, pepper, wisk in 1/4c. flour until smooth. Keep adding flour little-by-little until thick, but still pourable. (little thicker than pancake batter consistency).

Melt butter in a large soup pot. Add onion and saute 2 minutes.

Add celery and carrots, saute about 5 minutes.

Add chopped potatoes, thyme sprig, salt and pepper and cover with water (about 6 cups of water).  Bring to a boil and simmer until tender.

Add milk , bring to a boil. Meanwhile mix dumpling batter.  Drop dumplings into soup with using a tablespoon. Dip the spoon in soup, then scoop a bitesized scoop of dumpling batter on the spoon and submerge dumpling into soup. Allow to boil 3 minutes.

Top with chopped chives.

Hopefully this weekend I will get to baking a couple recipes I want to try!

Leave a Reply

