Parmesan Popovers


For Christmas, I wanted to try something different from the standard dinner roll. I had marked the popover in the Giada Everyday Pasta cookbook a while ago and thought this was a good enough time to try it! I made the batter and it was so thin, my “sister-in-law” even thought so. I almost thought I did something wrong…we discussed adding more flour, but I decided to go ahead and pop them in the oven to see what would happen – totally worked! 🙂 These are pretty good. The texture reminds me more of a quiche-like item than bread but it was good! (at least I thought so). Here is the recipe from Food Network, but it seems to be 1/2 of the recipe in the Everyday Pasta cookbook, but both recipes say it yields 6-8 servings?? Hmmm…this one made 24 popovers.

6 eggs
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour
1/4 t. salt
1/2 t. herbs de Provence
1/4 c chopped italian parsley
2 c. whole milk
1 1/4c grated parmesan

Preheat oven to 400ºF.

In a mixer, combine the eggs, flour, salt, pepper, herbs, and parsley. Mix on medium speed. Reduce speed to low and add milk and cheese.

Spray a muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray. Fill cups 3/4 way full. Bake until puffed and golden brown 20-25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

