Chicken Tacos

In my younger days my friends and I went to a local bar ate $1 Tacos and drank Corona on Tuesdays…mmm…ah the olden days! LOL. Anyway just a little reminiscing.

So I felt a taco fix was necessary, it’s usually a summer food to me, for whatever reason I don’t know… but I’m ready for warmer weather. If I haven’t said already, by this time of winter I’m ready for warmer weather! 🙂 I’m going to take some skiing lessons this year though so I can get my daughter in lessons and learning next year. Maybe then I’ll like winter better – if I don’t break anything…ha ha ha 

Here is a new recipe inspired by an Eating Well recipe I read, with my own spin on it of course. It’s fast and easy for weeknights. This recipe makes about 8 tacos.

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

Marinade:
4 limes
1/2 bunch of cilantro
1 jalepeno

Toppings:
1 avocado
3 roma tomatoes
1 white onion
1 clove garlic

package of corn tortillas

Squeeze limes in a glass pan, add roughly chopped cilantro and thinly sliced jalapeno. Mix in salt and pepper. Add chicken breasts and marinate overnight, turn chicken part way through marinating.

In a hot pan add the tomatoes whole and cook until charred on all sides.

Cut tomatoes in half and remove seeds. Chop into bite-sized pieces. Slice avocado and chop cilantro.


Slice onion into thin wedges and finely chop garlic. Add onion and garlic to pan and saute for 2 minutes. Slice chicken into thin strips. Cook in pan with onion and cook for 2-3 minutes on each side, or until cooked through and browned. Add chopped tomatoes and cook another 2 minutes. Stir in chopped cilantro.

I like to toast my tortillas on the stove to get a little char on them…MMM. If you have a gas stove set the flame to medium and place a tortilla on the flame and move around to get a little toasty action on it…like this:


Separate taco filling among the tortillas and top with sliced avocado and cotija (my favorite!) and serve with a lime wedge….scrumptous!

TACOS!!!!!

3 Comments to “Chicken Tacos”

  1. I remember those days….

  2. It better have been after you were 21 young lady!!!!!
    You were sneaking out your bedroom window at the age of 3

Leave a Reply

