Stuffed Artichokes

Today I bought small artichokes from Trader Joes so I could make a stuffed artichoke recipe I saw the other day.  After I searched and searched for the recipe I couldn’t find it again, or anything close to it. So I used two artichokes tonight and have two more for tomorrow (and after I get some italian sausage and red peppers from the store tomorrow I will make another version).  Lots of people make their artichokes whole stuffed with a mixture of garlic, bread crumbs, parmesan, parsley, and little lemon juice. I used this mixture and added pine nuts and pancetta.

Trim the artichokes like you would normally (That is: using scissors trim the prickly points off the leaves and using a peeler, peel the stem. Then remove the small tough leaves at the bottom). Cut the ‘chokes in half and remove the inner-most thin leaves and the “hair.”

Squeeze half a lemon over all artichokes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and olive oil.

Mix 1/4 c. bread crumbs, 1/4c. parmesan, 1 minced clove of garlic, fresh parsley, and small palm of pine nuts (I know not very exact).

Divide the mixture among the artichoke halves. Chop 3 slices of pancetta and place on top of artichokes.

Place artichokes in a shallow baking dish. Pour in 1/2c. white wine and 1/2c. water. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes or until tender.

Stuffed Artichokes

ENJOY!

One Comment to “Stuffed Artichokes”

  1. Amanda,if I ever get out to see you again, I would like you to make this for me. Hugs, Gram

Leave a Reply

