Strawberry, Fluff and PB Sandwiches

Fluff!

Your kids will love this sandwich! I never knew of any use for fluff other than in a fudge recipe I love. Then I saw Kate (Jon and Kate Plus 8 – back when that show was good) making it for her kids and thought gross. Then I found a recipe for homemade fluff and thought – ok I’ll try it. It seems I have seen a lot about the Fluff sandwich since then. I believe it originated in Pennsylvania – my home state! Lots of things come from PA I’m finding!

FLUFF
3 large egg whites
2 cups light corn syrup
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups powdered sugar
4 teaspoons vanilla extract

NOTE: The fluff expands a lot, use at least a 5-quart (or larger) mixing bowl.

In large mixer bowl, use a whisk attachment to combine egg whites, corn syrup, and salt. Beat for 10 minutes until thick. (After only a minute or so, the fluff turns white and gooey)

Add powdered sugar at a low speed to thoroughly incorporate. Add vanilla extract and beat until well blended.

Store the fluff in a glass jar for easy access a ziploc gets all sticky and messy on your hands. Refrigerate for up to a week or freeze for up to a month. The fluff is very easy to use right out of the freezer, actually I think it may be easier to use frozen. Since this is not very healthy and we don’t use it very fast, freezing it allows me to store it longer.

SANDWICH TIME!
Two slices of whole grain bread
3 large strawberries thinly sliced
Peanut butter

Leave a Reply

