Farmer’s Market Scrambled Eggs


Here in Carson we are fortunate to have an Early Farmer’s Market this year.  Considereing our Spring weather this year – I would say we are VERY fortunate. Yesterday, I took my first of many trips to the market this season. I got some fantastic early spring cherries, lettuce, baby carrots, asparagus, onions, garlic, and eggs. There is just something so great about the smell of freshly picked onions, it’s a smell you just don’t get from store bought. (My dad grows onions in his garden – along with a load of other fruits and veggies and whenever I’m lucky enough to get some onions I savor the smell – my dad lives in another state so sadly I cannot go raid his garden as often as I’d like!)

Use your favorite fresh vegetables from the Market and add them to your morning scrambled eggs.  Items like squash and tomatoes tend to be a bit on the wet side, pre cook them a bit before adding them to your eggs, or let them sit in a strainer for a bit to expel some liquid. Sometimes I add a tablespoon of cream cheese (to every 3 eggs) when scrambling my eggs, for and extra creamy texture, you do not taste the distinct flavor of cream cheese, but you will definitely notice a yummy difference in your eggs.

With my fresh ingredients I made some fresh scrambled eggs with bacon and asparagus (I also love mushrooms)….

3 eggs
2 strips of bacon, torn

4 asparagus spears, diced

1T butter
1T olive oil
1/4 c colby/jack shredded cheese
salt and pepper

Dice asparagus into bite-sized pieces and cook in butter and oil. My bacon was already cooked so I just tore it and added it with the asparagus just as the asparagus was done cooking.

Lightly beat eggs with salt and pepper. Add the eggs to the asparagus and bacon. Stir constantly over medium-low heat until eggs are just set. Remove to a plate and sprinkle with cheese. Tada! YUM!

Leave a Reply

