Guacamole and Mediterranean Salsa

My first “official” gig in which I wasn’t making food for an event I was planning myself. I was asked to make a few dips for a party of about 40 people.

I was a little scared at first, not knowing how much food to estimate or how much time I would need to make that amount of food. How to keep the guacamole from turning color. Things that I did not ever put too much worry into. I guess when you are making food for someone else’s event it is just more stressful. Probably questions everyone asks when they first start making large quantities of food for OTHER people! It was not as bad as I anticipated! Whew!

It was a fun and exciting new challenge and hope I get the opportunity to do this more often! I love to feed people’s bellies so this was a privilege for me!

Here is what I made:

Guacamole – this recipe is on my site already, but I’ve updated it with a photo

IMG_4643

Next was Mediterranean Salsa which in a previous blog I promised quite some time ago…sorry for the delay! This recipe doesn’t make enough for 40 it makes enough for probably a crowd of 15 or so.

IMG_4633

Mediterranean Salsa

1 lb. tomatoes, seeded and diced

1 English (seedless) cucumber, diced

1 bunch of parsley, finely chopped

2 sprigs of mint, finely chopped

3 green onions, thinly sliced in rounds

juice of  1/2 lemon

1 clove of garlic

3T olive oil

1/8 tsp salt

1/4 c. feta cheese

Toss the first 4 ingredients in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, mix lemon juice, minced garlic, olive oil and salt. Pour over tomato and cucumber mixture and toss.

Serve with Pita chips or toasted Lavash Chips.

4 Responses to “Guacamole and Mediterranean Salsa”

  1. Amanda, yes it is always more stressful cooking for others but it can be rewarding too. When we had the restaurant and did a lot of catering I just took my basic recipe for 8 or ten and doubled it or trippled it ect. It works out and after a while you will be able judge it better. We still did a lot of counting and my family was use to asking “Can I eat this or is it counted.”

  2. Amanda, A friend who grew up in the Southwest taught me to delay browning of Guacamole by pushing the avacado pit back into the finished Guacamole. You remove and discard the pit just before serving. Check it out!

    • Thank you I will try that next time. I use lemon juice in this recipe and that seems to keep it green for quite awhile. I will have to do a test recipe overnight to see how that works.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

