T’was a Christmas Cookie Party

This year Linda Marrone invited me to fill in as a judge for her Christmas Cookie Party. I was super excited and felt honored to have my opinion count so much.  Going into this adventure I thought it would be simple – taste cookies and pick my favorites. However, it was not so easily done. The cookies were amazing and all had their own appeal. I spent at least 45 minutes tasting 13 cookies and deciding which was the best, and changed my mind along the way. Taking into consideration taste, texture, the look of the cookie, and how traditional the cookie. My kind side wanted everyone to win because they all put so much work into these cookies and they all were really really good. But I had a job to do, so I got down to business.

Like I said the task was not an easy one, but it sure was fun and yummy! I enjoyed meeting the ladies, they were all so creative and enthusiastic, and you can tell they loved being part of the Christmas Cookie Party and getting together with one another each year. No wonder this is the 30th year Linda has held this party! What fun!

 

Organizing such a party is no small task in itself, but everyone involved brought an appetizer, a white elephant (or used) gift, and everyone makes 15 dozen cookies and some even hand make containers for their cookies. Really a great time is had, the ladies laugh the entire time and really just enjoy themselves.  Holiday cheer is definitely in the air.

Below are some photos of the winners, cookies, containers and other randomness I enjoyed along the way! Thanks everyone you did a FANTASTIC job – all the cookies were great you are all really winners, I’d eat all the cookies (in fact I did).

Meet everyone involved (Yes the baby helped with cookies too):

IMG_5775-42_2

Please excuse the photo quality – I was in low light at night…

FIRST PLACE – SWEDISH SNOWBALL COOKIES by Laura Vance and Laurie Oswald for Laurie’s mom’s recipe.

IMG_5770-37

SECOND PLACE – PECAN EGGNOG ROUNDS by Breana Coons & Lauren Coons.

2nd Place Cookie

THIRD PLACE – LEMON SUGAR COOKIE SNOWFLAKES by Sandy McCleary & Kristin Stokes.

IMG_5764-31

FOURTH PLACE TIE – MOLASSIS SUGAR COOKIE by Paula Tlachac & VIENNESE ROUNDS by Sheryl Seaman

IMG_5762-29IMG_5768-35

These are all the other cookies that were fabulous as well!

IMG_5760-27IMG_5765-32IMG_5766-33IMG_5769-36IMG_5771-38IMG_5773-40

THE CONTAINERS –

I am sorry I did not get a good shot of the third place winner Debbie Coleman’s Santa Head. She put a lot of work into these containers, but my photo didn’t come out sorry!  The container was a wonderful Santa Head with Santa’s beard filled with little bells.

FIRST PLACE – PHOTO COLLAGES (filled with memories over the years of the individuals who participate in the cookie party). by Linda Marrone & Kim Sayre

IMG_5742-9

SECOND PLACE (also the second place cookie) – ELF BUTTS by Breana and Lauren Coons

IMG_5754-21

FOURTH PLACE – SNOWMAN MITTENS by Darlene Cobbey and Carol Smith

IMG_5747-14

These are some of the other containers – homemade and not.

IMG_5745-12IMG_5750-17IMG_5751-18IMG_5752-19

We were lucky enough to have Christmas carolers from Carson High School choir stop by. I have never had carolers stop by my house and it was such a treat – a really neat Christmas tradition you always see in books and Christmas shows/movies, but in real life – I have to say I was thoroughly impressed and just topped off the evening.

IMG_5792-59

Here are some random photos of Linda’s holiday decorations around the house. (I just love her house).

IMG_5777-44IMG_5778-45IMG_5783-50IMG_5780-47IMG_5785-52

Leave a Reply

