Mexican-style Shrimp Cocktail

Inspired by my recent trip to Monterey, CA and more specifically eating at the Old Fisherman’s Grotto on the Monterey Wharf.

Exploring Monterey means not only visiting the sights at Cannery Row and Carmel not only hearing the sounds and feeling the sea air by the sandy beaches, but you will also notice the smells of food everywhere you go. If I had to sum up what Monterey smells like I really only remember smelling food everywhere, occasionally you get to smell some salty sea air, occasionally…The walk down the Wharf is pretty much window shopping for the perfect restaurant. You have clam chowder samples being thrown at you left and right, fresh seafood in open air delis. I wanted to eat something from each place, but my stomach wasn’t big enough. Clam chowder and fish and chips are all phenomenal. But I tried this mexican style shrimp cocktail and that is what impressed me the most. It’s like salsa, avocado and shrimp with some cocktail sauce…wow! It was so fresh tasting, with a hint of spicy chilies. Very impressive. I knew I had to try making my own version.  I hope you enjoy, please let me know of any suggestions you might have.

 

1 lb cooked peeled shrimp (41-50ct)

2 tomatoes, diced

1/2 bunch cilantro coarsely chopped

1 jalapeno finely diced

4 green onions

1-11.5oz can tomato juice

1 T horseradish

1 tsp sugar

salt and black pepper

1T olive oil

Sprinkle Old Bay seasoning

1 lime, juiced

1 ripe avocado

Dice the tomatoes, chop the cilantro, finely dice the jalapeno and slice the green onions. Toss together with the shrimp in a large bowl.

In a smaller bowl, mix the tomato sauce, horseradish, sugar, salt and pepper. Add more or less horseradish for more or less heat. Sprinkle the old bay seasoning and mix again.

Pour the cocktail sauce over the shrimp mixture and stir until combined. Leave in the fridge overnight to meld the flavors.

before serving squeeze the lime over the shrimp cocktail and dice the avocado and stir in.

20110717-IMG_8897

Serve with tortilla chips.

2 Comments to “Mexican-style Shrimp Cocktail”

  1. Wonderfull!!!! Easy to prepare. All who like shrimp will loveee this!

  2. Hello, my name is Colleen and I am a shrimp addict!
    Really! This looks wonderful – explosive flavors looks like a must try!

Leave a Reply

