Meyer Lemon Curd

IMG_6720-2-2-1

The other day my friend Linda gave me a few Meyer Lemons – my favorite! As a child, one of my closest friends had a neighbor who let us use his pool whenever we wanted. Each summer we would swim almost every day. In the yard was a Meyer lemon tree, but until recently I did not know that these were “Meyer” lemons.  

IMG_6453-3

Much sweeter and a with a darker peel, these are the kind of lemons you can eat like an orange (they are tart).  With a fragrance that is intense and nothing like other lemon varieties, the fragrant floral/lemony smell fills my house instantly. My daughter explained that they smell like lemon flowers.  A Meyer lemon smell is so distinct that you will know it’s different than a typical grocery store lemon immediately. Most lemon trees in people’s yards in California are Meyer lemons. It’s the smell of summer to me! I only wish we could grow citrus here in Nevada just so I can have a Meyer lemon tree.  

Here is an excellent recipe I got from Linda. At first taste I was blown away.

IMG_6731-13-2-3

MEYER LEMON CURD

4 teaspoons finely grated Meyer lemon zest (about 3 lemons)

1 cup Meyer lemon juice (about 4 lemons)

1 cup sugar

3 large eggs

2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces

1. Wisk together zest, juice, sugar and eggs in a metal bowl and add butter.

IMG_6231-10-1

2. Set a bowl on a saucepan of simmering water (or use double boiler) and cook, whisking until thickened and smooth and a thermometer registers 160 about 6 to 8 minutes.

3. Remove from heat and force curd through a fine mesh sieve set over another bowl.

4. Serve warm or cover surface of curd with wax paper and cool completely.

IMG_6741-17

(NOTE: If substituting regular lemons increase sugar to 3/4 cup.)

Leave a Reply

