Asian Beef Bowl

IMG_6743-3

I have been meaning to post this easy Asian recipe for weeks. Then today Miss Katie asked me for a stir fry type recipe that is easy, so it was the perfect time for me to finally get to this recipe.

For the life of me I cannot remember where this recipe came from or even where to begin to remember. I have used it enough from memory and changed it enough to call it my own, so there you go!

My daughter will eat this and it is pretty darn healthy – not too many bad things in it. You can change a lot of the regular ingredients out for healthier versions too, so I will note those for you as I go.

2 Pkgs ramen noodles (or 1/2 box whole wheat pasta, broken in half)

2 tsp cooking oil + 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper (or more to taste – or use chili oil)

12 oz steak, thinly sliced (or 1 lb thinly sliced chicken breast)

½ tsp fresh or ground ginger (1/4 tsp if using ground)

1 T. minced garlic

1 cup beef broth

4 Tbsp of soy sauce (use reduced sodium)

1 tsp sesame oil (optional this is one of my additions the dish comes out good without even)

2+ cups of Spinach

1 cup julienne carrots (matchstick)

3 scallions

¼ cup cilantro

Heat water until boiling, add ramen for 2 minutes, drain and set aside. (Or cook your whole wheat pasta to be just a bit undercooked).

Place oil and cayenne pepper in pan until hot, add garlic and stir 1 min. Add ginger and stir. Add steak and 2 T soy sauce and sautee’ until browned well. Add broth remaining 2T soy sauce and bring to a boil. Add carrots, spinach, and scallions until tender and wilted. Add noodles and cilantro and let noodles soak up some of the liquid. Garnish with raw green onion

(I also used broccoli and just boil the broccoli until tender in the ramen water then add it with the carrots to cook further. I also add more soy sauce and garlic to taste. Mushrooms are good too!)

I think this is a great dish you have a little of everything – Veggies, whole grains (if you use whole wheat pasta), and lean protein!

Lemme know what you think!

IMG_6744-4

 

Leave a Reply

