Open-faced Bruschetta Grilled Cheese

Since I watched the movie Julie and Julia I have been wanting to know what it is Julie made at the beginning of the movie. It was one of the first scenes and she was making dinner for her and her husband. It was fried bread and then some tomato-type topping that looked so good! I could almost taste whatever it was, while watching the movie, and then every day dream about it since. My expectations were somewhere between salty and crunchy fried bread and fresh vibrant vegetables.

What I came up with next fulfilled that “taste” and then some. A cross between bruschetta made with salty briney capers, fresh tangy tomatoes, melty cheese and crispy toasty bread. (I don’t think I ended enough words with “y”).

4 slices of your favorite artisan bread (sliced thick)
Fontina, cheddar or parmesan (I used Dubliner Irish Cheese, a cross between cheddar and parmesan)
1 Tablespoon of butter
2 tomatoes
2 Tablespoons capers (with the brine)
1 teaspoon dried basil (or 2 fresh basil leaves cut into ribbons)
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 cloves garlic
salt and pepper

Dice the tomatoes into small even pieces (think what you would want to eat in one bite). If using fresh basil, cut the basil into thin ribbons.

(TIP: stack the basil leaves on top of one another fold in half, then fold in half again and run your knife through the leaves to create thin strips.)

Mince the garlic. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl and set aside.

Slice 4 slices of bread, sliced on the thicker side. In a pan melt the butter. Add the bread and fry on both sides until golden brown.  Top each piece of bread with a thin slice of cheese immediately off the grill so it will melt.

Top with bruschetta mixture and Enjoy~

(SIDE NOTE: I made this later on and had some extra bruschetta left over and some extra pasta in my fridge. I tossed together the bruschetta, pasta, with some red onion and toasted pine nuts and it made an excellent pasta salad for my lunch!)

2 Comments to “Open-faced Bruschetta Grilled Cheese”

  1. Oh you had me at “Bruschetta Grilled Cheese”! This sounds like the perfect treat – definitely trying this one at my next dinner party!

  2. Thanks Peggy! This is one of my favs!

Leave a Reply

