Archive for July 4th, 2011

July 4, 2011

Happy 4th of July!

As we celebrate the USA’s birthday I’m sure you are all cooking up a storm (or grilling up a storm). I sure am!

Ribs were the centerpiece to my meal. My favorite grilled meat! This recipe is posted on my site earlier so I won’t re-post it but will direct you to the recipe for Smoked Ribs.

With a simple side salad and baked beans….MMMMMMMM.

20110704-IMG_8835

(Aren’t these carrots crazy? Purple on the outside and orange on the inside – there are a few white carrots too – they taste the same as a regular carrot. They came in my CSA basket this week – yum…along with some chopped mixed baby greens, cucumber and broccoli)

Oh and not to forget my favorite new cocktail! I am working on the name but for now we call it Watermelon Vodka Juice…puree watermelon in a blender and strain (leave a little pulp if you’d like). Add the juice of 2 lemons or 3 limes, 3/4 cup pineapple juice and 2T simple syrup, you can add a 1/2 vodka here or I keep the juice separate so my daughter can have a watermelon drink too. In a glass with ice (I used lemon ice cubes) pour 2oz of your favorite vodka, pour the watermelon juice 3/4 of the way up your glass then top it off with something fizzy like 7up/Sprite, ginger ale, or club soda…stick a straw in it you’re done!

20110627-20110627-20110627-IMG_8808

Hope everyone out there enjoyed their 4th of July!